Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Mar 19, 2009, 9:09 AM   #1

This is a picture of my son's first baseball game last Saturday. It was an on and off rainy day so there was a lot of overcast mixed with a lot of sun. I shot it from the dugout and because I am still very new to my camera I used the auto and sports mode (love how fast it shoots). I want to learn how to adjust it to get the best pictures possible so please provide any feedback that you can. I used the stock lens (lookingfor asports lens now)and the photo has not been touched except to resize. Thanks.

EOS 40D, 115mm, F/7.1, 1/2500
Attached Images

GatorKev is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 19, 2009, 10:34 AM   #2

Hey GatorKev,

I like this. It just looks like he is having a ball. Great timing on the capture.

For a stock lens you have to be happy with this result. I am thinking a little unsharp mask could make it even better. You should try it if you have editing software.

You definitely should start playing around with the M, AV, and TV modes and forget the auto and sports. I an not familiar with the lens but wonder could you have open the aperture more than 7.1 in the creative modes. I assume you could and that could make even better shots.

I am really new to this stuff too andhave now collected three very good lenses 50mm, 85mm(great for basketball), and 70-200 2.8L all Canon and the 70-200 is the only one that I would try to use for baseball. Of course reading on this site that 200 is not enough reach for baseball. However, if you want to stay under $600 and you can stay in the dugout the 85mm 1.8f would do pretty good job for pictures at the plate and its a great lens to have anyway. I do have a Sigma zoom that is much less expensive than the Canon and I plan to experiment with both in a few weeks when soccer starts up again.

Keep Shooting and post again,

Andy
griffina6 is offline   Reply With Quote