Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old May 26, 2009, 9:46 AM   #1

Default Looking for advice -> Auto Racing Photography

I'm planning a trip to Watkins Glen in September for the US Vintage Grand Prix and I'm looking to get some pointers on shooting auto racing. First off, here is a list of the equipment that I will have for shooting. I'm an amateur hobbyist where it comes to photography, I'm still really learning the basics and getting better as I do more photography. I am using a Pentax K20D and these are the lenses that I primarily use: Sigma 24-135mm f2.8-4.5, Tamron 70-300mm f4-5.6, and Kiron 70-210mm f4 (manual). I'd also like to point out that I've never been to the race track at Watkins Glen either. So, not only looking for some advice on the best shooting techniques but also if anyone has experience at the Glen, the best places to shoot. Although I'm sure if I follow the pro that's sure to be there I will probably find the best spots. I've tried my hand at a few panning shots while at the go-karting track with the family and they turned out well IMO but I'm still in need of the practice, but any advice is appreciated. Obviously go-carts don't move as fast as race cars. Here are a couple of the panning shots I took of the go-karting for comments and critique.

MadMikeSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 27, 2009, 4:08 AM   #2
Super Moderator

You are off to a good start as you've been able to get a little motion blur in these shots.

The key is to get the feeling of movement in a shot of a moving car, the minimum is to have the wheel rotation and then going on from there is to get the background blurred due to the motion.