Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Sep 3, 2009, 3:50 PM   #1

Default 5K Run help

Hi!

I'm an event photographer and I've volunteered to shoot a 5K charity run this weekend so I am looking for some tips on sport technique. I am A-OK for the general event shots, but would love some advice on finish line photos...

I shoot with Nikon D200 and D300. I have SB-600s if I need them, and I have a pretty general lens kit... Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6, Nikon 50mm f1.8, Nikon 70-300 f4.5-5.6, and a 28-200 f3.8-5.6 in my bag.

Thanks for any advice!
Greg
Greg Wolcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 3, 2009, 3:52 PM   #2

Whoops - PS, there are going to be about 500 runners, so I know it will be pretty bunched up. The course and finish line are both very flat and open, and I will have access to the chute. There are some trees in the area, but at the time of day it should be fairly shadow free...thanks.
Old Sep 5, 2009, 7:03 AM   #3

Hi Greg, are you covering the event along the way & the finish or just the finish? who are you shooting for, media/single entities/corprate?. If media you deffo want the winners in each catogary ie mens ,womens, disabled etc (preferably isolated!). obviously you need the people paying you crossing the line if private. I'd shoot slightly wide to include any finish line banners if shooting corprate. I think they would be fairly spread out by the time they finish but get a good spot early for the finish line preferably looking down the chute & minimizing DOF. If there is a clock above the finish it's nice to include it if there is sales to entrents,so a wider angle would be better if this is the reason for shooting!. Good luck & look forward to viewing the results!. Kind regards Graham.
bluesman graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2009, 9:43 AM   #4