Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Sep 17, 2009, 5:33 PM   #1

Default Got an assignment offer today from ESPN... and turned it down

You know there are some times in life when principles really SUCK

I was contacted today through my sportsshooter page by a person at ESPN with an assignment offer for this Saturday. It wasn't for game-time action but something else. I called another pro shooter I had gotten advice from on Sportsshooter since I've never done anything like this before and discussed a list of questions, rates etc. At the same time I sent the person at ESPN an email indicating I was available and wanted more details. They sent me a few details and their pricing - all hourly rates. And, a better hourly rate than I'd get doing ANYTHING else photography related.

But, fortunately I knew better. I knew publications should and do pay for usage. They pay not only for your time but how they will use the photo. So, I asked them to provide details of usage so we could finalize terms. Unfortunately they replied "their rates are non negotiable..." and if I wasn't interested they would have to find another photographer.

So I passed on the job. I would have made more than I make on anything else and would have gotten some minor visibility (again this wasn't feature stuff - most likely would have been promotional in nature so it's not like it was payment for game photos). But I knew from people on sportsshooter what ESPN was offering was actually much less than what the product was worth. All in all, I'm a little bumbed but feel pretty good about the decision. Organizations are looking for more and more free or discounted product and photographers looking to put food on the table with photography as their sole source of income are losing their jobs. Mostly because people are willing to work for access or for notoriaty.