Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Jan 31, 2010, 12:01 AM   #1

Default Another try at hockey

My 7D showed up a few days ago so I headed out for the local Rink to catch a hockey game to see what I could get. I used my 70-200 2.8 and brought along the 1.4 teleconverter.

#1 & 2 were shot at IS0 3200 with the teleconverter.
Attached Images

schent1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 31, 2010, 12:04 AM   #2

#3, 4 & 5 were the straight 70-200.

Comments are greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Tom
Attached Images

Old Feb 2, 2010, 10:20 AM   #3

I like the last three the best, especially number five! I remember that feeling (some good, some pain!). Coming from a total newbe I hope you won't mind this question, where did you focus on the first couple? It seems to be at the jersey center, I wonder if the eyes is not a better place, as that is what I look at first. Not a critisim, but a question for those who actually know what they are doing from someone who dosn't.
waoldrifleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2010, 6:18 PM   #4

Waoldrifleman,

Donít worry about a possible criticism, when I post a picture those are the kinds of things I am hoping to get so I know where to improve. I am certainly not an expect, but I can tell you what I have learned regarding the focus. For sports you want to shot in Al Servo mode and use a single focus point. The challenge with the single point is keeping on the personís body while they are moving. It can be very easy to slip under an arm and focus on the back ground. With the 7D I was using you can select a center zone which give a larger area to hold on the personís body. I suspect part of blurring in my images could have been improved by a faster shutter speed.

Tom
Old Feb 4, 2010, 9:58 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by schent1 View Post
Waoldrifleman,