Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Mar 25, 2010, 11:34 AM   #1

Default Safe at Third Base!

I'm a relative inexperienced photographer who took some action shots of my daughter's high school softball game from far right field with my T1i / 24-105L using aperature priority at f/8. At that distance, I had to crop significantly to get to the action. This is the best of the lot.

That's third base from far right field along the foul line.

Not bad, I think, for a rank amateur. What do you think?

Thanks.

Gary
gschaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 25, 2010, 11:45 AM   #2

My 2 cents.

My workflow in CS4:

Cropped it to a standard ratio
Cloned the other glove out
Levels
Shadows/highlights
Brightness/Contrast
Saturation
Reduce noise
Unsharp mask

pbjunkiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2010, 11:53 AM   #3

Nice!
Old Mar 25, 2010, 12:03 PM   #4

whoops, i accidentally saved it a tad big
Old Mar 25, 2010, 12:07 PM   #5

The concept of the edit is nice but there's just not enough detail to support the crop. So the resulting quality is too poor IMO. I like the idea of what the OP did - non-traditional crop to eliminate distracting background. In general you just can't crop this much and retain a quality sports photo. So I think the first post balances things a bit better. Additionally, it's a bit difficult to know what's going on defensively. Can't tell if either defender has the ball or not. So not sure who is making the play. So a shot a split second later (which is why burst is so important) might help resolve that issue - plus the runner would be closer to the bag.