Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Apr 13, 2010, 3:17 PM   #1

Default Some soccer pics from Sweden! My first outdoor soccer shoots!

One of my sons were playing 2 training matches this weekend. I took some shots. Im new to shooting soccer and sports, so it was a challenge. Im pretty happy with these, but I will train and train to improve. And keep on reading this forum.
My son is the one with the white cap.
Best regards/Daniel

DSProtection is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 13, 2010, 4:10 PM   #2

I've never shot any sport before, but I really like #3!! Maybe a little more reach would be good? But there are so many fantastic sports shooters here at Steve's - I'm sure you'll get all the help you need!

2 x EOS 6D | 24/1.4 ART | 35/1.4 ART | 50/1.4 | 85/1.8 | 135/2L
maggo85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2010, 4:17 PM   #3

Hi Daniel. Welcome to the sports forum. I think you're off to a great start here. Perfect timing on that first shot. Well done. Here are some things to think about next time you're out:
first - get out of shutter priority mode. It's the last mode you should use. The problem with it is - using it closes down the aperture. You've got shots at f8 here - no good reason to do that. The majority of shots have too much depth-of-field. Part of the reason is using a narrower aperture (higher f-number) than needed. If you're not comfortable shooting in manual exposure, switch to aperture priority and leave the lens wide open.

The second problem is - 135mm is way, way too short of a lens. You're going to have to save your pennies so you can afford a longer lens - you need it so you can fill the frame with your subject AND so you can get a shallower depth of field - so more of the background is out of focus.

to that end, on with feedback on shots:

Overall exposures look good, colors look good. So nice job there.