Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Sep 24, 2010, 7:57 AM   #1

Default Soccer

First time posting any pictures. I know I have a lot to learn and would like some feedback. I am new to all this. A canon 70 - 200 f/2.8 IS with a canon 1.4 II extender was used. Thanks
Name:  test1.jpg
Views: 186
Size:  250.3 KB

Name:  test2.jpg
Views: 198
Size:  78.7 KB

Last edited by gwill; Sep 24, 2010 at 2:37 PM.
gwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 24, 2010, 9:00 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Glad that you were brave enough to put some photos up, this is the key area of making progress.

Firstly your settings are totally wrong for sports, the aperture is too small and the ISO is through the roof to get the shutter speed up.

You basically want to shoot with the widest aperture possible (small f number) which lets more light into the camera and also helps reduce the depth of field isolating the subject.

The first shot seems to be focused on the man in the background and the 2nd I'm not totally sure of.

Both shots have good aspects, you have faces, the ball and some action, but you need to get in tighter.

This thread might help out, it's a bit old but still holds true. New to sports shooting and wonder if you can improve?!?!

I can see you have a 40D but what lens are you using?

Really hope this helps you to move to the next level

Have fun everyone!

See what I'm up to visit my Plymouth Wedding Photography
site or go to my blog.

Last edited by Mark1616; Sep 24, 2010 at 9:05 AM.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 9:16 AM   #3

Welcome to the sports forum! Here is some feedback on your shots: