Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Jan 27, 2011, 12:11 PM   #1

Default Help with ice hockey - how to set up

Hi,

First of all I am a hobbyist that likes taking photo's of my kids playing hockey. I have set up my camera a few different ways (from forums) but want to ensure I am getting the optimal photos from the equipment I have.

I am shooting 9 and 5 year olds hockey using a 30D and Sigma 70-200 lens. Typically I'm in the stands which are quite low to the ice and on occaision I will sit in the penalty box (if there is no glass). Lighting is pretty typical of older ice rinks and on occaision they play in a newer arena that has better lighting. I set the WB using a photo of the ice prior to cleaning and set in manual mode, ISO 1000, 2.8 and shutter speeds from 320 to 500 focus is set on the "o" - can't remember what its called. Typically I take some test shots while they are warming up and take a look at the pics themselves and the histogram.

Overall I'm pretty happy with my results, but it would nice to get them a little sharper. I would post a few samples but I'm not at home right now.

2 Questions
- Is there a better way to set up my camera
- What is the best way to check IQ while shooting
- while there are many variables - can someone tell me the general settings of their set up with a similar lens/camera

Thanks in advance.
seabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2011, 2:24 PM   #2

The good news is you're doing everything you said correctly. If possible when you get back, post a couple photos that are unedited (only resized) - the original framing and exif will help us determine what some of your problems might be. Some thoughts before seeing your photos:
  • Make sure focus mode is AI-Servo
  • Make sure only center focus point is selected (and not all points or not a non-center point)