Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Aug 29, 2011, 8:20 AM   #1
spy

Default Drag Racing

Last Friday night I was asked to come shoot a night of 1/4 mile drag racing for a couple of brothers that go up against each other. Both driving Chevy trucks, one running nitrous. This is my first time photographing this sport I only had 3 races to get most angles in. In the 1/4 mile, both trucks are doing 130 mph, between high 11's and low 13 seconds.

This race was open to the public with all types of vehicles from smart cars to mercedes and everything in-between. I hope to go again next Friday for another night of it!

Kevin
www.poetryofmotion.com
Attached Images

spy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 29, 2011, 4:02 PM   #2

G'day Kevin

"cor blimey mate" - what great images of the smoke & power ... I can hear the noise too!
and these are well loved [and polished] vehicles as well - not some knock-around old bombs

Well done
Regards, Phil
Ozzie_Traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 6:01 PM   #3
spy

Cheers Phil and thanks for commenting. That guy standing in the tire burnout smoke worked that position all night from 7pm - 11pm with no ear muffs or mask! The smoke was choking if you were in it....dont know how well he manages?? The brother in the 3rd photo has owned that truck for over 30 years! The motor alone in that one ...$12,000! This night was the first time running nitrous in it which gave him an extra instant 100 horsepower.
Old Aug 29, 2011, 6:14 PM   #4

Great pix...the first Chevy is a an older SS 454...the 454 refers to the original engine in the SS 454....454 cubic inches of displacement...or 7.4 liters for those familiar with the metric system.

A big V8 engine...no matter how it is measured...also known to the drag racing fraternity as the ' Rat' motor.
lesmore49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 8:50 PM   #5
spy