Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Sep 1, 2011, 2:00 PM   #1

Default Soccer C&C needed

Here are some pics from my sons soccer game last weekend.

Equipment:
Canon 7D Sigma 70-200 f2.8
edwardskev is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 2, 2011, 7:14 AM   #2

I'm still learning too, but I know I like hearing what anyone thinks when I post, so here's my comments (I'm sure more knowledgeable folks will be around shortly)...

#1 Good action & good expressions. Faces look a little dark. Also, the kids are running "uphill" toward the right. Use your favorite photo editing software to straighten the picture before cropping. Use the horizon as your guide.
#2 Would have worked better cropped tightly around your son. There's nothing really happening otherwise.
#3 Good action, but focus looks off. Could also have worked with a tighter crop IMO
#4 Needs straightened and a tighter crop
#5 Again, straighten and tighter crop
#6 I like to see faces more. Other than that good timing
#7 & #8 IMO would look better as a tighter crop
#9 Nice shot of two friends.

My biggest suggestion is to let the light work for you... put the sun at your back or 45 degrees off your shoulder. Otherwise the players bodies create their own "shadow" on faces and to get that exposure right, you need to blow out the background.

I also have problems with shooting "level", but fortunately, I have enough room to rotate to level THEN crop in post.

Again, I am by no means an expert and got my camera to do just what you're doing... pictures of my kids sporting events.
SamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2011, 10:06 AM   #3

Good comments from SamG.

On the crops for 7 and 8 crop off behind the player in each.

I would try to use some levels adjustments to help the kids stand out a little.

One more note - For saftey get the coaches to get those shin inside the socks.
griffina6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2011, 2:55 PM   #4