Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Sep 9, 2011, 8:44 AM   #1

Default More MS Basketball: UPDATED w/info. Help please

OK, I ended renting a 70-200 2.8 for last night. I still ended up cranking up the ISO and haven't figured out the best way to get rid of the noise. Also seemed to have problems with the focus (as normal for me). The pictures just don't "pop" to me. Here are some shots...

I did some cropping, some straightening, worked the levels, and tried to 'denoise', and while these (sort of) work for what I need, I'm not totally happy.

Last edited by SamG; Sep 13, 2011 at 8:29 AM.
SamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 10, 2011, 2:24 PM   #2

SamG,
I'm no expert but from what I can tell is your shutter speed at 1/400 was to low. You need at least the min of 1/500. When I shoot bball I try to get 1/640 or faster. That might help you on the focus part.
But I don't know the specs on a D5000 and the AF on that camera may not be fast enough. But I would think you should get better quality than whats posted.
Also you might want to get a 85mm 1.8 lens. Seems to work great for bball.

When it comes to noise I use Neat Image. I like it the best.

Also I don't own a VR lens. But I have always been told to turn off VR for sports. The lens you rented, did it have VR on it and maybe turned on?
aced19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 10:46 PM   #3
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamG View Post
OK, I ended renting a 70-200 2.8 for last night. I still ended up cranking up the ISO and haven't figured out the best way to get rid of the noise.
I did some cropping, some straightening, worked the levels, and tried to 'denoise', and while these (sort of) work for what I need, I'm not totally happy.