Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Apr 18, 2004, 9:22 AM   #1

Default Drag strip

Last weekend, I went to a drag strip, seen 1 car and took 1 picture before the rain. The event was then shut down. Anyway, here is that one picture:

I wish I had time to practice. I would have liked to use a faster shutter speed, but I still like the shot.
Darrell1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 18, 2004, 11:18 PM   #2

Looks like you were on for composition and the color saturation looks good, I just canít tell where the actual focus point ended up.

Too bad you didnít get some more chances.
PKchopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2004, 9:53 AM   #3

Here are a coupld of things I have learned from photographing drag racing. All of this is self taught, so I'm probably doing it wrong.

First of all never use autofocus. Every time I have tried this I end up with the focus locked on the burnout smoke or a puff of exhaust. The second thing I learned is very close to the first; manually set your aperature and shutter. At the very least set the shutter. I try to set the shutter to 1/500th or faster depending on the amount of light.

Next set you camera for manual everything. These cars are moving too fast for the camera to try and adjust itself.

The biggest thing that helped me was learning how to pan. Once the cars hit the 60 foot mark they are moving too fast to keep in the frame.

Finally takes lots of pictures. The more you take the more good ones you will have. Here is one of my better shots from last years Northwest Nationals at Pacific Raceways.