Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Feb 9, 2005, 9:54 AM   #1

Shooting gym shots with Nikon D70 with AF Nikkor85mm F1.4Dlens ; set 1/100 at F1.8. I like a little blur in the area that shows action (ex., hands coming up on a layup)but otherwise would like shot crisp. Working against myself with slow shutter speed; to compensate, I'm manually prefocusing on a spot under the boards and shoot there. I get one excellent shot out of 4 or 5 which is ok. I also use a monopod to steady the shot. I'm new to digital (not to photography) and would appreciate any tips.:-)
SPORTSHOOTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 17, 2005, 1:37 PM   #2

hello sportsshooter,

I have been at a lot of my high school teams basketball games this season. And i have found that with the lens you are using, i would suggest uping the shutter speed to 1/125 this would still have you the look of bluring in the hands and feet.

Also, something you might want to try is setting the shutter speed to about 1/200 and then use Photoshop CS or Elements, to digitally blur the hand and feet. that way you can be sure to get the crisp action shot.

You can see the pictures i have taken with a canon Digital rebel, at my website

http://www.shutterlens.com

-Travis Swentosky-
NPPA Member
NAPP Member
tswen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2005, 7:54 PM   #3

Surpised how much your shots look like mine before I edited them with Nikon CaptureEditor or Adobe's Photo Elements 2. Your shots would definetly pop out of the dark as well as lose that blue cast with a treatment by either one. Hope you aren't offended. Were I in your shoes I would be thrilled to see what either one of these editors could do for me. As I said, your shotslook just like mine before these editors improved them.

Ciao!
SPORTSHOOTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2005, 10:05 AM   #4