Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Apr 29, 2005, 1:37 PM   #1

I AM FROM Minnesota and want to purchase a dslr to photograph my kids in sports .I am no pro but would like to get a camera ,lens set up that would allow me to achieve a good 8x10,11x14 or larger print size . IS there a camera/ lens set up you recommend ? I would be shooting softball, wrestling, volleyball,and football. I have been looking at the d70, and the 20d .I thought the d-70 would be a little cheaper and allow me to spend the extra on a better lens.But everyone tells me that the 20d will blow it away for photo qaulity as it has two extra meg ,and shoots faster at 5fps ,and can go upto iso 3200 I think ....Is there that much difference between them ? Thanks Bill B
zwdb08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 29, 2005, 5:21 PM   #2
djb

correct me, folks, if i'm wrong, but, Canon also has more image stabilized lenses than Nikon. that only matters if you need IS or VR in Nikon terms.

dennis
djb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2005, 10:08 PM   #3

Bill,

I have a Canon 20D and I shoot sports for a local town paper.

The Nikon has one advantage that it can do flash synchronization up to 1/500th, and the Canon only up to 1/250th. So if you ever want to do a little "fill flash", you're slightly more limited with the Canon.

The 20D has the ISO 3200 feature which is very handy for indoor shots.

The 20D has two extra meg, which doesn't necessarily mean it will "blow away" the D70 for image quality, but certainly the extra 2 meg means you can shoot wide and crop later and still have lots of file size to print a nice enlargement.

The D70 or the 20D will produce a great 8x10 enlargement.

The 20D is good for about 4fps, but to be honest, I almost never use it. I think it's more imporant to get a good composed shot than to rapid fire and hope to get something good out of it.