Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old May 23, 2005, 7:24 AM   #1

I need some suggestion on capturing a moving object like bird etc. I'm using Canon S1 IS. Currently the Auto focus is set to `Single' (not Continuous). When I spot the bird in my frame, I press the shutter half way (takes 1-2 second) to let the camera focus on it. By this the time, the bird will be out of my frame. Please suggest a solution for this. Am I not doing the right way? Should I set my camera to Continuous Auto focus mode?
Glass is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 23, 2005, 4:12 PM   #2
djb

Glass, i am no expert on your camera but, i did read a little bit about it in Steve's review. I think you have something a bit confused (or maybve i am). the continuous focusing you mentioned, i didn't read anything about that. there is a continuous shooting at 1.7 fps for up to 24 frames. that mode i would use to capture flight shots. also, if you have large flying bird as a heron or soaring raptor, then it may be a bit easier to track them and get a good focus and shoot a few frames. small fast birds flying by are going to be very difficult, if not impossible, with a 1-2 second focus speed. what you might want to do is prefocus on a spot where you think the bird may fly and keep the shutter button pressed 1/2 way to keep focus and wait til the bird gets there. now, if once your camera is focussed and as long as you hold the shutter button half way, and if your camera will continuously focus that way then use your continuous shooting mode and go from there. hope that helps. there's lots of us out there that have cameras that do keep a moving objrct focussed and it's still difficult to get really good flight shots. definitely more throw-aways than keepers.

dennis