Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Sep 21, 2005, 9:35 AM   #1

(Nikon D70s--70-300mm Nikkor lens)

I've been shooting kids sports for 4 years now, soccer, baseball, swimming, however never football. I found the need for a better camera once I began shooting my sons Jr. Football team action. I'm a rookie when it comes to this type of sports action shooting, so please click the links below to see a series of 10-12 shots put together in Gif format (pics are 2 seconds apart). Any constructive critisism much appreciated!

http://home.comcast.net/~ripsnort60/Good_Run.gif

http://home.comcast.net/~ripsnort60/gggif.gif

I am finding that I shooot approx. 350 photos for each game, and I reduce that down to about 10-20 good photos that I keep. Its really tough having to decide which to keep, as I have a self-set limit of 10-20 for the parents of all the football team members (80-160 photos by the end of the season)

Also, normally I get lower to the ground using my monopod, however this particular field had such a HIGH crown that the grass would fill 50% of the picture, thus the reason that the height I'm shooting at is up there...

Ripsnort is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 21, 2005, 2:57 PM   #2

Ripsnort,

Not too bad. But, a couple suggestions. In both sequences, your subject was the ball carrier. In general, it is more effective if your subject is coming towards you rather than running away. being able to capture facial expressions really ads impact to the image.

I also think a wider aperture would be more affective to get subject isolation - too much DOF allows for the background to compete with the subject.

I also like (but this is a personal preference) tighter crops - there are a lot of extraneous players 'milling about' in the images. Try cropping down to just the runner and maybe the closest competitor.