Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Feb 28, 2006, 2:26 PM   #1

Since I'm normally a portrait/wedding photog, people expect me to be there taking their picture...they know why. But last night at the basketball game (5th grade AAU) the coaches, some parents and players asked me what I was doing there. They didn't object, just seem to have cameraphobia when they don't know why you're there.

I just felt conspicuous walking around freely at this game (I'm a 6 ft tall redhead:?)and tried not to draw attention to myself. And didn't get nearly enough face shots. Do I just get over it...or are there certain etiquette to adhere to?

I know this is rambling and I'm new to this so thanks for humoring me with your opinions.

urbanaries is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 28, 2006, 4:59 PM   #2

I suspect it's mainly because they aren't used to or expecting someone to be taking pictures from the sidelines as if they were actually taking it a bit seriously. Certainly, if you look around, there are usually a number of parents taking shots with point and shoots from the sidelines.

It may be that they didn't recognize you. There is a paranoia out there that pedophiles go to public places and take pictures of kids. I've never heard explained how they actually use these photos or how taking pictures of kids in public doing normal things kids do is exploitative, but the fear is there. Our city has a policy of not allowing anyone to photograph kids in city owned facilities. They won't kick you out, but workers are told to ask people not to take pictures. Again, I am not sure what damage these photos cause. Probably more important to ban pictures of kids in underwear ads if we are truly concerned. But I digress.