Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Mar 19, 2006, 6:13 PM   #1

Well, I just got a new Sigma 120-300. So, rather than shoot eye charts, license plates or brick walls, I decided to test the lens the old fashioned way - actually taking photographs...

The focusing is a bit stiff, so I'll have to get used to that. Colors are good, and when it hits I get some great results. Unfortunately I was testing it out on Lacrosse which I'm new at so a lot of user error rejects. So far the one area for concern is noticable CA - but I was also using a 1.4x TC. I'll have another chance to test it out in another week or so - we'll see how it does the second time around.

In the mean time, C&C for these shots is always appreciated.

John

JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 23, 2006, 11:28 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Hey John....... nice lens, that sure is a toy I would like in my case!!!!

For a first attempt these are looking very good. It must be wonderful to have a fast lens with such good range (420mm @ f4 with the TC).

Looking forward to seeing more of the results from this baby.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2006, 11:48 AM   #3

Mark1616 wrote:
Quote:
It must be wonderful to have a fast lens with such good range (420mm @ f4 with the TC).

Looking forward to seeing more of the results from this baby.
Thanks Mark. I've been chomping at the bit to get out again but spring sports around me really doesn't kick off until the weekend of April 1. I'll be able to test this baby out on baseball, softball and track then. These were taken about 200 miles from home - I was out of town visitng my sister's family. My wife and sister went to the mall and I snuck out to the local parks / high schools and came across this match.