Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Jun 6, 2006, 11:10 AM   #1

Greetings! I posted here during basketball season...I'm a portrait photographer who was asked to shoot this dynamo athlete nephew of mine throughout his various sports seasons. Learned a ton from your guys' tips on basketball photography, and a surprising amount I was able to apply to my other work.

So he's pitching tonight...is it absolutely crucial to be inside the fence? I don't shoot long very often and am just too afraid I won't see what's coming. Any tips on capturing good pitching shots from the fencelines are welcome!

I'd like to just take one lens from the car as someone here thankfully pointed out the dust issue. Which one? I have a 20D.

Canon 50mm 1.8, 85mm 1.8 | Canon 17-85 f4/5.6 IS USM | Canon 50-200 f4/5.6 | Canon 75-300 f4/5.6 (assuming this is the one) | Tamron 70-200 f4/5.6 (72mm width lens)

Thanks in advance!

Lynne
urbanaries is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 6, 2006, 12:52 PM   #2

No you do not have to be inside the fence, you can shoot through it also. What I do is set myself right next to the fence and shot through one of the "holes" in the fence. If you are using zoom then the angle at which you are actually taking the shot is only a few degrees wide and done right the fence will not be in the shot.

As for pitching shots, I love to take mine behind the back stop and over the umps shoulder, again framing the lens so that I am shooting through a hole that makes up the fence. Try to get as head on as you can.

The only games that I am inside the fence are the LL Softball and the minor leaguers (7 & 8 years Old). The big thing to remember is safety, YOURS. It may not seems like these kids can hit the ball hard but I know a 9 year old boy who I would not want to be on the receiving end of a foul ball.

Hope this helps

Phil
k1par is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2006, 1:57 PM   #3