Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Aug 17, 2006, 8:39 PM   #1

Some photos from yesterday's game. Man soccer is a pain to shoot

JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 18, 2006, 10:01 AM   #2

Those are quite good - I will be shooting some high school soccer this season as well- any tips? Thanks!

SuzF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2006, 12:10 PM   #3

Thanks, Suzf.

Soccer is one of my weaker areas - I'm still learning the ropes of shooting it. So, I'll give you some general advice that applies to just about any long field sport: football, soccer, lacrosse:

1. Pay attention to backgrounds - this is especially important if you don't have a long telephoto with wide aperture (e.g 300mm or 400mm 2.8). The less disruptive background you have the better your shots will be. You can only control this so much - but if there is one side of the field that has more clutter than the other shoot from the side with more clutter and leave the less cluttered side as your backdrop.

2. Whatever lens you have - shoot wide open - that is the widest aperture you can. This will isolate your subject better. Even if you have a less cluttered background subject isolation is still a good thing.

3. Usesingle only focus in whatever ai-servo mode your camera has. There is too much going on for multiple focus points - so select a point and stick with it - the easiest being the center point.

4. frame tight - the tighter you frame the better your camera will be able to focus and the more detail you'll retain. You really want your subject filling 1/2 the frame at least. So, if using a zoom try to keep it at full zoom and only back off when the subject is coming close to you. Resist the urge to frame too loose - you won't get as fine a focus and you won't have as much detail.