Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Mar 11, 2005, 10:32 AM   #1

I've been a photographer for a long time, and grew up with Speedotrons and the like for product photography. I have recently had the opportunity to work with compact fluorescent and HMI Continuous lighting. I find them highly effective, and very easy to use. I was wondering why these lights are not highly recommended in this forum. To see what I m talking about, visit the following pages:

These lights really work for me, and I was wondering what your cons are.

Thanks in advance for your replys.
wwinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 11, 2005, 12:00 PM   #2

Use them all the time:-), both CFL's and halogens. Quite a few people here make use of them.
  • Pros, you can see what you as shoosting. [/*]
  • easy to meter without an expensivish flash meter. [/*]
  • Inexpensive [/*]
  • easy to find bulbs.
  • Cons, Odd color casts, not much issue anymore with digital [/*]
  • halogens are hot(very) [/*]
  • limited light output, when compared to packsfrom ProfottoandSpeedotron BlackLine [/*]
Alsoless fun, as they don't pop circuit breaker relays and put you in the dark like a 2400 blackline on fast cycle.

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 4:12 PM   #3