Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old May 2, 2006, 1:52 AM   #1

I need some clarification on this volts subject between dSLR's and studio lights.

I just have to say, I'm a photographer not an electrician. Which means I need layman terms.

I own 2 Sunpack Platinum 300 Compact Monolights and would like to hookone up to my D200 and use the other as a slave. Nikon says

Warning: Negative voltages or voltages over 250 V applied to the camera's sync terminal could not only prevent normal operation, but may damage the sync circuit of the camera or flash. Check with the strobe manufacturer for voltage specifications.
I've been looking for the voltage from the ToCad who owns Sunpak and cannot find it. How can I find the out the voltage. Is there an accesory from Nikon that will reduce the voltage. I've read about a few accesories here and there but just cannot wrap my little mind around it. I know I could just use my external flash but would like to skip that all together.

Much appreciation in advance if anyone can help.

CaliBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2006, 5:18 PM   #2

Very few information is given by the camera manufacturers about external flash hook up I believe it is a matter of marketing.

I would never connect my cameras directly to an external strobe or studio flash. I use an opto couplerwith a separate low voltage batery that isolates even the ground wire. It isimportant that the device applies a very low voltage and current to the camera triggering circuit (typical figures are 6 volt, 3 miliamp).I built my opto isolators using opto coupler CIs but I believethe assembled deviceis available in the market. Radio control also protects the camera and I am sure they are ease to find. Old style strobes use to submit the camera to more than 200 V and a very high current peak.

Be carefull and good luck.

Kleber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 4:13 PM   #3