Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old May 24, 2006, 6:29 AM   #1

Hi CHaps,

I'm really hoping for an answer here. I'm based in the UK, and thanks to the recent change over with Sony, the PCT-100 Sync adapter is no longer available. Due to this, I'm thinking of getting a FS-1100 which gives me an ISO standard hotshoe, then buying a low cost Radio trigger for Studio lights.

My question is this, I have a 5600HS and it always double flashes, if I connect a radio trigger do you think I will have this problem or should I get some proper pics?

A bit simplistic, but I'm new to all this. A dual 5600HS setup (I currently have this) won't do Portrait work as the double flash causes 'lazy eye'. You can't get alien Bees in the UK so I think I'll go with Elinchroms starter kit. It's just whether or not a radio trigger will work or if I should use a Sein Safe Sync and go the PC sync cable approach.

please help!!!

Adambrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 24, 2006, 8:19 AM   #2

If I were you, I'd get a third party adapter that gives your 5D an ISO standard hotshoe, as well as a PC Sync Port. That way, you'd have more flexibility for attaching triggers and strobes (since the hotshoe on the 5D is proprietary).

There is a verndor in Hong Kong that sells these. Search Ebay listings for FS-1100 (including the dash), and you'll see some of the listings.

Here is one (and this same vendor usually has multiple listings for them):

I've got the identical adapter for my 5D for use with some old Sunpaks I bought to use with it. I got mine from Nick (a.k.a, Digital_Initiatives) in Hong Kong. But, he's out of them right now. Here are some better photos of one:

Note that this adapter does not have built in voltage protection. So, you'd need to make sure any strobe you use with it is safe from a trigger voltage perspective (or use a Wein Safe Sync or equivalent product with one).