Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old May 30, 2007, 1:09 PM   #1

I am having trouble taking photos at long focal lengths when using my Sigma 70-300 lens, especially over 250mm. Although I seem to be geting the focus ok, when I look at the end result, the image appears blurry and out of focus.

I am quite new to this and am still learning, so any help would be much appreciated. I guess I am using too slow a shutter speed? the speeds I am using vary, so would there be a recommendation not to go lower than a certain speed when shooting at over 250mm?

My camera does not have an image stabilizer, nor does the lens I am using.

I am using a Nikon D50. Otherwise a graet camera and have produced some (relatively) good shots - bearing in mind I am a novice!

If anyone has any useful links, or information they could give me to help improve my shots, I would be really grateful.

Thanks in advance, Chris
chrisbwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 30, 2007, 1:48 PM   #2

By most accounts, your lens is a bit soft on the long end (users of it tend to comment that it starts getting softer much over about 200mm)

Stopping down the aperture (higher f/stop numbers) may help a little bit. I'd probably try it at around f/11 and see if it's any better, keeping in mind that smaller apertures (higher f/stop numbers) will require slower shutter speeds for proper exposure. Most lenses are sharpest a couple of stops down from wide open.

Also, make sure that your shutter speed isn't the issue (you could be getting some blur from camera shake).

The "rule of thumb" for reducing blur from camera shake is that shutter speeds should be 1/focal length or faster. IOW, if your focal length is 100mm, you should use 1/100 second or faster, if it's 200mm, you should use 1/200 second or faster, etc.