Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Sep 28, 2008, 7:02 PM   #1

I am not a professional wedding pro. I have done it as favors for a few family members. 2 of the 4 weddings I have covered were because the pro photographers backed out at the last minute (once the photographer quit with 6 days to the wedding because the briude would not pay for extra albums and prints and just wanted a basic package -- he said I am sorry I overbooked and your the low bidde I quit).

Here are a couple of tips I'd like to pass along in hopes it might help someone else

- Use a good quality camera (bridge or D-SLR type) shooting in a church isn't the easiest. I used a Fuji S-5100 for the first 2 and the Fuji S9100 for the last two. The photos are the greatest but they turned out well enough to make the bride and her parents happy each time. Luckily I shoot way more than I need to make sure I got eniugh to keep the couple happy.

- Ask bride ahead of time to see if you can use the flash (have her ask the minister when they have their pre-wedding meeting)in the church or not. Some ministers will let you and some will not. In my case the answers have always been no......

- Use highest MP rating possible with lowest compression if you shoot jpgs. For those who can use RAW and know how to use it go for it as long as the processing time between images is not forever or feels like forever.... some cameras have better buffers and faster processing of RAW images.

- Do not delete photos as you go as you might miss some of the action in the progress. If you think you messed up on a photo keep shooting. Some of those bad photos maybe able to be rescued with software or might often an expession that is priceless..... Do the culling after the fact not as you go

- Use of C-AF and high speed shooting mode as bride and groom and wedding party come up the aiel at begging of wedding