Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Aug 7, 2004, 9:43 PM   #1

I have a friend that wants me to take some action photos of him during a triathelon, especially on his bike, but I have never done shots of cyclist before. Does any one have any experience with this? I am going to be using a Canon Digital Rebel with a 100-400 Vivitar lens. It is a bit on the slow side with a 6.3 apeture at the high end of the zoom. My guess is I would be able to get pretty close to him so I would probably be in the middle of that range.

I figure that the best types of shots would be a panning shot. What shutter speed should I be using? He said he would be cruising at around 20 mph. I also figured I could be some nice pictures head on. Should I use a Tv mode on this? If so, I guess stopping the action would be the best way in a head on shot. Any suggestions?

royy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 14, 2004, 4:12 PM   #2

I'm not a fan of automatic exposures, especially sports as you need to really watch your speeds. You will need to be using at least 1/250 and at your lenses 400mm at least 1/500. I'd get an exposure reading set the speed as fast as practical then the fstep to that, even opening a half if your friends face is in shadow. For and interesting photo you might pick a spot and shoot the mass of legs with a slow speed (this is fun for cyclocross). A nice tight face shot is great so show the pain and concentration (and sweat). Panning is good, maybe a slow speed one will be interesting. Otherwise remember to shoot tight.

ab8nd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2004, 7:43 AM   #3

It might be too late, you didn't state when this Triathlon was on.

You friend probably trains an awful lot for this event, why dont you head out to a few training sessions and take some test shots, see what works and what doesn't..

Just my .02
PlatinumWeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2004, 12:40 AM   #4

Hi Royy,