Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Oct 9, 2004, 7:57 PM   #1

Sorry not to sound professional but I'm a newbie to cameras, I basically just take snap shots or the occasional landscape pic.

I am not having problems with landscape pictures but, I am having problems with snap shots. The thing is, the flash on the camera is broken. I just want to be able to get decent lighting by either, A. mesisng with camera settings or B. Using adobe photoshop

Here is the camera info.

Mega pixel 3.0
Optical 2.8X zoom
Brand is Olympus
If you need to know anything else, just ask, and I will try and see if I can igure it out. This is just the stuff it says on top of the camera.
inuyasharocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 9, 2004, 9:19 PM   #2

The flash being broken tends to be somewhat moot considering all the cameras i have seen don't have enough power anyway. Try setting the sensitivity as low as possible and just use a tripod. On my old point and shoot it was called gain, also popular is the term ISO. As always the manual is your friend.

As for the color cast, if it is truly obvious the usual suspect is the whitebalance. For the images already taken you will need some color correction. Try Cyan and some extra blue(That is off the top of my head) in the color correction functions(Variations, hue-saturation, or curves).
Hopefully that solves that
hedwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2004, 10:26 AM   #3

Well, with a compact camera, you're most likely going to have at least 2 of the problems you mentioned (motion blur and/or grain) trying to shoot indoors without a flash (unless you can use a tripod, and your subject is not moving).

What is bright to the human eye, is not to the camera's lens, and the camera must keep the shutter open long enough for proper exposure of the image (and without a flash, this will need to be much longer).