Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Nov 23, 2004, 1:16 PM   #1

I want to start getting more nicer looking photo's with my digital and have a couple questions

What is the best setting or situation to reduce red eye in pictures (I am not good with using softwear after the fact) and how come professional photo's never have red eye??

If I want to do some pictures without a flash of my son who is 8 months old and moves non-stop what is the best way to so that so they do not come put too dark or blurry...any tricks ??

philamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 24, 2004, 11:11 AM   #2

Red eye is a result of having the flash close to the lens. Most small digital cameras will give you red eye. Some cameras have a red eye reduction that gives some flashes before the main flash to close the pupil so you don't get much red eye. I find that everyone ends up squinting or has their eyes closed when the main flash goes off so I don't use it, but it might work OK for your toddler. There is software with automatic red eye reduction that works well. I prefer to just do it manually if I am going to make a large print.

Pros don't get red eye because they use external flash units that are far away from the lens. If your camera has a hot shoe you can get the same results with an external flash. Bounce flash is especially nice indoors.

Available light photography indoors is almost impossible with most consumer digital cameras. Stabilization helps a lot, but it doesn't correct for subject movement. A tripod works, but it doesn't help for subject movement either. You are pretty much stuck with the flash for stills and need good light for movies. There aren't really any tricks that can overcome the basic limitations of the camera.

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 3:44 PM   #3

Tell the subject to not look into the lens. Of course, that is if the subject understands you.
Grinder is offline   Reply With Quote