Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Jan 21, 2003, 4:52 AM   #1
Default extreme conditions

Hi, I am new to digital photgraphy, and just ordered my G3. I have few queries regarding extreme conditions and camera performances as i am planning a trip to peru. As the altitude will be higher than 10,000 ft., so i need expert words to get batteries and memory.
1. IBM Microdrive doesnt work at 10,000 ft or more, Is this same for compact flash type 1 too?
2. What about batteries? I know the Li-Ion batteries works poorly when goes below zero, is there any make/brand (BP511/512 compatible) that works..?
3. What about the camera performance? Do i need some special measures to "protect" the camera?

any opinions? expert tips? basically i just need a little help!

p.s. i just realised that a similar question is already answered i.e. "Camera to snowboard with". just wanted to confirm.
ham33d is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 21, 2003, 10:45 AM   #2

Solid-state CompactFlash cards can go anywhere that you can go and operate without damage.

The best way to get around the cold battery problem is to use an external battery pack that you keep inside your jacket or pocket. Your body warmth will make the battery go a lot further.

Another problem with cold or extreme heat is the color LCD will turn black. It is a Liquid Crystal Display and as such it is temperature sensitive too.

steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2003, 11:18 AM   #3

Thanks Steve for the info. Just a another little question regarding lcd-turning-black thing, is it temporary or it really damages the screen??? + what if i dont use the lcd in cold weather, will it still be affected?
ham33d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2003, 11:24 AM   #4

What if you enclosed the camera in a zip lock bag with a chemical hand warmer. It could keep the operating temp up while using the camera. You could cut a small hole for the lens to go through.