Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Travel Photography

Old Oct 14, 2006, 12:30 AM   #1

We almost didn't go here because the Rick Steves Guide didn't recommend it...until I started studying the history of the building. This is one reason you should not always listen to the "experts"....

This church, whos cornerstone was laid by Louis XV in 1764, was originally to be modeled after St. Peter's in Rome. However, before any real work had beguneverything was stopped when the architect died. A second designer took over, tore down what had been started and began a new building to be designed after the Pantheon in Rome. Before it could be completed, the French Revolution put another halt to construction.

In 1806 Napoleon had the entire building torn down and the Greek-type structure that now stands was begun as a temple to his Grand Armies. Again, oweing toNaploeon's ultimate exile in 1816, the building was still not completed.

The final construction project was begun again by Louis XVIII, who also did not live to see the final project. It was completed during the rein of LouisPhilippeand was finallyconsecrated in 1842 as a church after one last thought to maybe turning the building into a train station.

On now to the images. This is a front view that faces towards the Place de la Concorde, which is just a few blocks away. This was shot with the 7mm setting on my 7-14 Zuiko,It's hard due to the super wide angle usedto really convey how big this building really is, even using the people in the image as a reference...
Attached Images

Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 14, 2006, 12:34 AM   #2

The building is surrounded by these huge Corinthian columns. They are truly massive. While my girlfriend was admiring an adjacentflower market, I took out my 50-200 Zuiko andzoomed in and out, looking for an interesting angle to shoot the columns.
Attached Images

Old Oct 14, 2006, 12:37 AM   #3