Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Sep 11, 2006, 12:20 AM   #1

I need help. I'm looking for a tripod. I'm a very casual, amateur digital photographer. Right now I have a light point and shoot Sony (DSC-P200). The primary factor for my tripod is that it be very compact and lightweight. I'm concerned that if I can't easily fit it into luggage on trips and carry it around, I just won't end up using it as much. That means that folded length, folded diameter, and weight are important, even if it's not quite as stable as even slightly bigger options like the Manfrotto 7XX series or the Slik Sprint. Of course, I'd still like it to be reasonably stable in average conditions, and able to handle a somewhat bigger camera if I ever move up from the simple point and shoot. I'm not looking to spend a lot of money -- as I said, I'm just a casual photographer, but I could probably convince myself to spend up to $150 if I really felt I was getting something worth it.

The top choices on my list are:
- Velbon Ultra-Maxi-F (60" max height): http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...ughType=search
- Velbon Ultra-Luxi-F (63" max height): http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...ughType=search
- Sunpak DigiPro Compact-B (52" max height): http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...ughType=search

I've seen the SunPak in person, but haven't yet found the Velbons locally in St. Louis. I thought that the DigiPro was surprisingly stable, and if the pictures of the Velbon are any indication, it's a nearly identical design. Here are my questions:

- The Velbons give 8-11 extra inches of height. I'm about 6 feet tall. In practice, will I regret only having the 52" the SunPak has?
- Is construction on the Velbon Ultra Maxi/Luxi significantly better than the SunPak?
- I hear the Luxi has a little bit thicker legs than the Maxi.
- How much of a pain will the second handle be on the Luxi when trying to set up and break down?