Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Dec 8, 2006, 10:06 PM   #1

I am considering purchasing the manfrotto 3021BPro tripod with 488 rc2 ball head. I hear this is not the lightest but wanted to know people's recommendations. I would use it for landscapes so I would have to carry it around a bit. Most likely a morning or afternoon- not a full day. Would this be too heavy? Any suggestions.I know people recommend the carbon fiber but it isn't in my budget and I am not a professional.

Thanks for the help.
Clark1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 9, 2006, 8:42 AM   #2

I have the 3021Bpro with 488RC4 - so, same weight just different mounting plate.

It's a great setup but as mentioned not the lightest. The problem is, to get lighter with the same load bearing capacity you need to go carbon fiber or similar which jacks up the price quite a bit.

I bought an Op-Tech tripod strap and prefer to use that to carry the tripod (over using a case). I also have a photo backpack the tripod can mount to. It really is a fabulous setup. Impossible to say whether it's too bulky to carry for you - that's an individual thing. I can stress, however, the importance of buying a sturdy tripod. If you can't afford the carbon fiber type tripods this one is an excellent choice. Other aluminum tripods may be lighter - but then of course they'll be less sturdy.

I really like the fact that each leg has it's own angle control - which makes it great for stability on uneven ground and combined with the removable center column, you can get this guy right down to within a foot of the ground.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2006, 8:10 PM   #3

I also have the 3021 pro, and agree it is not the lightest, but very sturdy and should last for many years.
Wirraway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2006, 10:31 AM   #4