Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Sep 5, 2009, 3:25 PM   #1
Default Which Tripod I should buy

I have recently bough a Canon SX10 IS. I am looking for a tripod which is not too expensive, but not too cheap either. I have looked some tripods and prepared the following list:

1. Sunpak 620-080 8001UT
2. Velbon DF-60
3. Dolica AX620B100 (I am little biased towards this)

I want suggestions from experts on the facts like:
- Whether these are compatible to my camera?
- I am not a professional; rather an amateur. Can anyone among these suffice my needs?

Please help.

Thanks and Regards,
nnanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 5, 2009, 3:42 PM   #2
Default Compatible Tripod

I have recently bough a Canon SX10 IS. I am looking for a tripod which is not too expensive, but not too cheap either. My budget is something around $50. I need suggestions on a compatible tripod for my camera

Please help.

Thanks and Regards,
Old Sep 5, 2009, 3:45 PM   #3

I see you've started two threads on this subject. I'll try to merge them together for you, so that all of the answers are in the same place.

Note that we have a dedicated Tripods and Heads Forum setup that you may want to browse through (and I'll move your thread to that forum for you).

BTW, Welcome to Forums and congrats on the new camera.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2009, 11:11 AM   #4

Morning Niranjan, Well there are probably two camps of thoughts on tripods that I have come across. The first is do not buy a cheap tripod, since you will just go out and have to buy a more expensive one later. The second is without buying an inexpensive one, what features should an upgraded tripod have, what appeals to me in a tripod, and what features do I absolutely hate. Also, just how often will you use it?

Its the classic chicken and egg problem.....