Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Jan 8, 2010, 9:30 PM   #1
Default Another tripod thread.. I know I know

I am a beginner to DSLR photography and I am looking for a cheap yet durable/light weight tripod. After much research i'm having a difficult time and i need help. The most common replies are buy a gitzo. Well a lot of people like me can't afford one. Then usually the next comment is to buy an manfrotto aluminum tripod. I don't want gitzo price but yet i want light weight since I travel a lot.

I am not a professional photographer - I am using my SLR as a replacement for my point and shoot at the same time trying taking some good photos when something interesting catches my eye (landscapes/cityscapes/sunsets/night photography). I have a Canon xsi and I will be using pretty basic lenses (kit lens and 55-250mm lens) for foreseeable future. Can any one suggest me a good yet cheap one?

ukrishna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 8, 2010, 9:38 PM   #2

Look at the cullmann nanomax line, they are pretty well made, german design. Most of them are under 60 bucks.

If you want to spend a bit more, I personally use a cullmann magnesit 519 with my T1i. It is a very stable tripod. It is about 85 dollars. It is a bit heavier then the nanomax line.

Both the nanomax and magnesite line are also grounders. Letting you set up for very low shots.

Adorama carries them.

Since you are new to dslr, check out this site, they have workshop with youturbe videos. www.dslrtips.com

Last edited by shoturtle; Jan 8, 2010 at 9:46 PM.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2010, 12:42 AM   #3

Well, there are sturdy tripods, there are lightweight tripods and there are cheap tripods. You can only get two out of the three.