Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Jun 15, 2006, 5:22 PM   #1

Hey all, I'm a new photographer so all I have for a tripod is this little tiny thing 3 inches tall that doesn't work at all for outdoor situations.

So I'm looking for a new one, but first I must know... what is a ballhead, why do you need one and is it bought seperately from the tripod?
Morag2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 15, 2006, 6:09 PM   #2

A Tripod head is the part of the tripod that you mount the camera/lens onto, and which sits on top of the legs and provides the various degrees of movement for your camera.

There are two general types of heads that a tripod can have. One type is called a 3 way Pan/tilt head. These heads have separate axis and controls for panning the camera, tilting the camera back and forth, and moving the camera between horizontal and vertical shooting positions.

The second type of head is a Ball head. A ball head allows all of these movements to be carried out with a single control pivot (although most ball heads also offer separate pan controls as well).

Generally speaking, inexpensive tripods come with a 3 way Pan/tilt head already matched to the tripod. 3 way pan/tilt heads are thought to be easier to use when the camera does not have to follow a moving subject, but rather, just to hold the camera in a fixed position, while a really good ball head makes it easier to track a subject that is moving on more than one axis at a time.

Because of that, alot of pros prefer the degree of control that a good ball head provides. Usually, high end tripods are sold with the legs and head sold separately, and there are a wide range of ball heads, and also specialized control heads for a range of professional applications, including precision pan/tilt heads as well. Basic, light to medium duty ball heads can be bought for as little as $20-25, while precision professional heavy duty ball heads might cost as much as $400.