Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Aug 6, 2006, 6:52 AM   #1

I've decided to get a Kodak p880, meaning one of the larger 'compacts'.
One of the reasons being that I like to take a lot of outdoory, sceneryish pictures, and will likely appreciate the wide angle capability of this fixed lens.

Now, I have very little experience with tripods of any kind, but think my requriements go something like this:

-Not shorter than 60cm when fully extended.
-Not too heavy; rather easy to carry around.
-Preferrably not more than 50euro.

Since monopods appear easier to carry around, would such perhaps be best? Is the loss of stability vs a tripod simply dramatic?

Any voiced thoughts appreicated.

Lindinblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 6, 2006, 12:51 PM   #2

I have a monopad and an bulky, "video style" tripod. I use the monopad most, but it does have limitations. First, it's not as stable, for night shooting where you need long exposure, there is no substitute for a stable tripod. My monopad doesn't come with tilt device, so I can't take portrait shots.

For tripod, I suggest you look at euro websites for what's available to you, and look at what's on your budget and what can hold the weight of your camera.

In general, for photography, a ball head is better than tilt-and-pan type.

rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:32 AM   #3

the best 'all around' tripod for the money ($95 usa):

SLIK Able 300DX
bernabeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 5:50 PM   #4