Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Underwater Digital Photography

Old Sep 18, 2006, 11:16 AM   #1

Hi,

I'm new to underwater photography - but I'm looking to give it a go next time I go diving (2 weeks - Red Sea - Can't wait!).

I have a Nikon Coolpix 7900 and was wondering what people's opinions where about the various housings available for it.

I count three, but if anyone knows of any others I'd really like to know.

Nikon's own WP-CP4 (this looks discontinued tho???)
Fantasea's CP-7
Ikelite's 7900

Specifically is the Ikelite worth the extra money (and why)? Which is easiest to setup/use? Is there a clear winner for good quality shots.

Typically I dive to upto 30m, normally in areas with good/very good visibility and lots of tropical fish/reef/coral. That's what I want to snap (macro stuff). I'm not (at least not yet) interested in wide angle shots of wrecks and so forth.

Finally (and slightly off topic - sorry), what do people have to say about Nikon's Underwater Scene mode? Is it good enough, or am I better using the manual mode to get the best shots and tweaking the settings myself.

Any advice muchly appreicated,

Thanks,

Phil.
falloutphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 18, 2006, 5:01 PM   #2

I'd say if you can find it the Nikon housing is probably the best just due to the size. It appears to give access to all the controls, allows for extra lenses to be atttached and it's a compact size.

The Ikelite by comparison seems quite large, probably due to the fact that it's a multi purpose housing with controls installed for the specific camera, my Ikelite D70 housing uses the same principal of a one size fits all housing. The Ikelite would be my second choice based on what I see. It has all the controls (I think) and allows suplemental lens to be used.