Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Underwater Digital Photography

Old Aug 14, 2002, 6:14 PM   #1

Default pt-010, Oly C-40404

Hello,
I've just bought an Oly c-4040, a pt-010 housing and a Sea & Sea 90DX strobe. I haven't had the chance to use them yet and I wonder if you could give me some tips. First of all, I have problems with the velcro pattern of the strobe's fiber optic cable, it keeps moving and the strobe mask isn't completely attached to the tape of the housing. what am I doing wrong?....I also have a Fish eye tray and when it is attached to the camera I can't use the weight that makes it neutrally buoyant, does anyone have the same problem?
And finally I have some questions about using the OLY c-4040 underwater, what type of light metering should I use? and should I set the Full Time AF function or not?
What about the zoom? 35 mm, 55, 80 or 105 mm?
Lots of questions I know, sorry , but I'm new in this and you don't get those answers in the manual :-)
Thanks to all !!
Laura is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 15, 2002, 11:16 AM   #2

Here is athread on another forum that answers a question or two.

http://www.wetpixel.com/forum/viewthread.php?tid=380

You shouldn't need the weight when usingthe external flash and tray. The flash is negative enough to sendthe entire rig to the black bottom of the sea. Put the entire rig together and put in the bathtub. If it sinks, your fine. If it seems to be fairly heavy underwater, adjust your weight belt to compensate or you will be too heavy underwater.

I f you do need the supplied weight, it goes between the camera and the tray.

I also have new similar setup. C-4000, PT-010 and DS50 strobe. I will start with continuous focus (use rechargable batteries), spot metering, aperature priority for the correct depth of field, Strobe on TTL instead of manual.