Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Underwater Digital Photography

Old Apr 21, 2003, 5:59 AM   #1
lrs

Default how to correct the color in underwater photos

I have an Olympus C-3000 Zoom camera with a housing to take underwater photos. All the photos have inacurate color due to the color loss when going underwater.

Does anyone know an easy way in PhotoShop to correct the color?
lrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 11, 2003, 11:01 AM   #2
SSD

I am still learning PS and do not have that answer, but I recently learned a trick when taking underwater pics with a digicam that might help out for future pictures.
Set the white balance on daylight if you are only going to be about 5-10 feet deep under the water. I f you go deeper than that, set the white balance on cloudy.
Here is the site I read about this on.

http://www.canon.co.jp/Imaging/uwphoto/index-e.html

The info on white balance settings is on page 4.
SSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2003, 3:16 AM   #3

personally I think it's better to get the picture right the first time than to try post processing underwater pix. I normally try to get closer and use the flash to get rid of the colour cast or at least to get an even exposure. But if you have to use photoshop, this is how I do it.... I use the channel mixer and reduce the green and blue while upping the percentage of red (I just adjust by gut feel). You can also use the curves if you know how much red to add and blue/green to reduce using the dropper tool (still learning this one).

This helps fix the picture sometimes, but if the colour cast is uneven due to the flash not being able to reach all parts of the picture, then it's difficult to get rid of the colour cast by making global changes. As I said, best to get closer to the subject to get even flash exposure, then any remaining colour cast can be fixed in photoshop easily.
platorulez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2004, 12:11 PM   #4