Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Viewers or Web Page Creators

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 22, 2005, 2:01 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default

hi armani.where do i start .ok i uninstalled all of the canon andzoombrowser stuff. in add remove programs i did see canon access library.anyway i went to the site you said i download the 5.5 and it still dont work i went into services and there is still no canon library there.when i installed it i did see it loading .and it is inwhere you do the add remove programs.the disk i have is 5.5 and i am running xp. when i spoke to canon the otherday he told me to download update which is k5805mux exe.

when i did that and tried to install it i went into wia64 it started to go then brought up the blue setup screen thing and then i got an error message"wai driver file for xp not found"

ok thanks for replying and hope you can help

thanks mybobtail
mybobtail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2005, 10:27 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Sorry, I think it is something with your windows xp, as it doesn't see or show Canon Library. I am not sure what to do. Try to figure out why it is not showing all the services.
armani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2005, 3:02 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default

Thank you Armani. I Updated from ZoomBrowser v5.2.1.16 to v5.5.0.190 today and suddenly couldn't get CameraWindow to function properly. I always upload my pix directly from memorycard (Compact Flash) and after insertion I'm prompted with a window listing the applications I can use to read the pix. After updating ZoomBrowser clicking CameraWindow did nothing. Checked my cardreader, reinstalled the update and finally did the decent thing: spending some time on the internet looking for an answer. You found it for me! Many thanks. That e-mail you received from Canon stating you should reinstall camera driver is hilarious and sad at the same time. :whack:

I'd like to add another warning concerning rotating pictures. When rotated JPEG pictures are downloaded from the camera/memory card ZoomBrowser's default choice is to rotate the original image. Now paradoxally I'm all for it because that ends any confusion about picture orientation but... Sadly this operation has 2 cons:
1 It is my understanding that ZoomBrowser doesn't do lossless rotation =>some picture information is lost during the process.
2 ZoomBrowser modifies the creation date/time of the rotated picture to the "lossy rotation" date/time. (much to my dislike)

To avoid all this go to Tools=>Preferences=>Rotation=> Uncheck the "Rotate Original Image" box. If you really want to permanently rotate your pictures use a program which does lossless transformations e.g. xnview or irfanview

Attached Images
 
Picture This is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2005, 8:35 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Default

I am really happy. Interesting thing about rotating, I will keep it in mind. Thanks

Andyes here is this e-mail just for fun:

Thank you for your E-mail inquiry.

To address this issue I suggest removing and reinstalling the driver for
your camera. Listed below are the guidelines for this procedure.

1. Connect the camera to the computer and turn the camera on in the
download or replay position.
2. If you see a "My Computer" icon on the desktop, right click the "My
Computer" icon and select "Properties" from the menu. If this icon is not
on your desktop, it is in the program menu. Click "Start" in the bottom
left, right click the "My Computer" icon and select "Properties" from the
menu that appears.
3. On the window that appears on the screen click "Hardware" across the top
and select "Device Manager".
4. In this list look for an entry for your camera beneath "Imaging
Devices", "Other Devices" or "Universal Serial Bus Controller". If you see
any entries for your camera remove them from the list by right clicking the
entry and selecting "Uninstall".
5. Once you have finished checking this file you may close down the window
using the "X" in the top right corner.
6. Click "Start" in the bottom left corner and go up to "Run".
7. Delete any text written in the white box and type in: "twain_32". Then
click "OK". A window should appear on the screen.
8. If you see a folder related to your camera or a folder with PTP in the
folder name right click on it and select "Delete". Then close the window.
9. Click "Start" and go up to "Run". Delete the text in the white box and
type in "inf". Then click "OK".
10. At this point another window will appear. Single left click on any
file, just to highlight it, and press the letter "O" on the keyboard.
11. Look for a file called oem0.inf. The icon for this file looks like a
notepad. You will also see a file called oem0.pnf. Ignore this file as
you do not need it.
12. Double click on oem0.inf. [In the first two lines of text look for
anything relating to your camera (e.g.: "Canon" or "PowerShot").] If
oem0.inf contains entries for the camera, close the file down and delete
both oem0.inf and oem0.pnf. If the file does not contain any entries for
the camera close down the file and move on to oem1.inf.
13. Go through all the oemX.inf files until you locate the file for your
camera. When you find it don't forget to delete the corresponding oemX.pnf
file.
14. Once you delete these files you have removed all traces of the digital
camera driver from your computer.

Turn your camera off and download the WIA driver from the following
website: www.canon.ca under the download section. Download the driver to
your desktop. Once the download completes close all windows so all you see
is your desktop. Double click on the file you have downloaded and the
installation will start. When the installation completes connect your
camera to the USB port if it is not already connected and turn your camera
on in replay mode.

Should you require further assistance, please feel free to email us or
visit our customer support website at http://www.canon.ca




armani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2005, 2:50 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default

Bless you Armani!!!
I couldn't get Camerawindow to run on one of my OS's (dual boot system). Support wasn't worth spit. I made the changes in the services and bingo, suddenly I can access my camera.

Thank you.
digger42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2005, 11:37 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Thank you! I am really happy it helps many people. Bless you all!
armani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2005, 11:37 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Thank you! I am really happy it helps many people. Bless you all.
armani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2005, 12:37 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default

armani: ... Thanks very much for an easy instant fix to a problem that was bugging me since I purchased an A610 last week, and which I suspect affects many. I had gone through several XP Pro uninstall/reinstalls of the Canon software and was using Microsoft's Scanners and Cameras Wizard to download images since camerawindow wouldn't activate standalone or from within ZoomBrowser EX5.5.0.190. Setting "SSDP Discovery Service" to automatic and then starting "Canon Camera Access Library 8" did the trick. Thanks again. - InCards -
incards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2005, 3:23 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Muad Dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

UPNP is another needed service.

For XP the Universal Plug and Play Device Host (UPNP) service is also needed for Zoombrowser 5.5. The SSDP service is dependent on it.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"The UPNP service is, by default, automatically started by XP. However it is one of the suggested "disabled service" candidates for performance and security reasons (i.e. Black Viper's service guide suggests it be disabled if not otherwise needed for performance, others suggest it is a security hole).
style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"
Allow meto voice a personal pet peave: Software should be written to report missing or disabled services! Not simply fail to work with no message or entry in the event log. especially when the installation instructions do not specify required services.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Thanks to all on this post for the assist in getting Zoombrowser 5.5 working.A friendbought a refurbished Powershot S1 IS and it did not come with the software CD and asked me to help.
Muad Dib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2005, 4:46 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Maybe it does make lossy rotation, that sucks.
2 The creation date does not change, I have tested that.. maybe I misunderstood what you actually meant?


Picture This wrote:
Quote:
I'd like to add another warning concerning rotating pictures. When rotated JPEG pictures are downloaded from the camera/memory card ZoomBrowser's default choice is to rotate the original image. Now paradoxally I'm all for it because that ends any confusion about picture orientation but... Sadly this operation has 2 cons:
1 It is my understanding that ZoomBrowser doesn't do lossless rotation =>some picture information is lost during the process.
2 ZoomBrowser modifies the creation date/time of the rotated picture to the "lossy rotation" date/time. (much to my dislike)
Force is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:14 AM.