Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old May 11, 2008, 7:56 PM   #1

Hi everyone,

I think like a lot of us the photo bug bit at an early age. When I was around 10 I received my first camera, it was a little instamatic that took 126 film (I think I am showing my age).When I was a sophomore in high school I join the photo club and one teacher took me under his wing showing me how to use an 35mm SLR camera, how to process my own B+W film and do my own prints. At about the same time I start having my photos published in the local newspaper and also writing stories for the paper. Now some 34 years later I still love to take photographs and still have photos published in local papers (we now have two of them) and write sports reports and special features for one of them. The film cameras and darkroom disappeared about six years ago when I bought first Canon Digital Rebel. My preference is shooting sports action but as many know I also love taking shots for fires, fire fighters and fire trucks. Being a fire fighterI can get closer to the action than normal people can or would want to (after all this time there is no doubt that any fire fighter cannot be considered normal. Who else would run towards something that everyone else is running away from).