Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Nov 25, 2008, 8:18 AM   #1

I will be shooting at an indoor gymnastics meet where flash photography is not allowed. I have a Nikon D40 with a 70-200-mm F2.8 lens. I'm a novice photographer, and I want to get good shots. Any suggestions? Monopod, tripod, shutter speeds? I want to freeze the action, w/little blurring.
the4miles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 25, 2008, 11:32 AM   #2

The reality is - unless you're in a pro or major Div I NCAA arena you're going to have a very tough time. If you're in a HS gymnasium you could get 1/400 speeds at f2.8 and ISO 3200. If you're at a gymnastics studio however you'll be lucky to get 1/250 at f2.8 and ISO 3200.

There's a lot to shooting sports but here's a crash course on gymnastics:

1. Set a manual exposure realizing it may change for each event. You can determine what exposure is proper for each event during warmups.

2. Shoot RAW so you can correct white balance in post processing.

3. Turn on continuous focus (whatever Nikon calls it).

4. Turn on burst (i.e so you can keep shutter button pressed and take multiple pictures)

5. Leave all focus points active

6. Use a monopod if you're not comfortable hand-holding the lens yet. If you're comfortable then no need for the monopod. But don't feel bad about using one if you need it.

Now, I'm assuming your taking photos of your child as the move through the various apparatus. The best photo ops are on beam - it's a small area to cover for a photographer, movements are slow and you don't need fast shutter speeds - 1/250 will do for much of beam routines. Generally I prefer being at the head of the beam rather than the side. Of course that means that half the routine you won't be able to get shots of (since they'll be facing the other end of the beam) but such is life.