Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Mar 19, 2011, 9:38 AM   #1
Default Greetings from Western New York

Greetings to all members of the forum. I live in the Buffalo, New York area.

I chose my screen name because I'm a retired PC tech (almost 5 years now), and I rebuild old computers for our church computer lab for use by youth.

I got my first digicam, a Canon A70, about 8 years ago. A sister in law had one and let me handle it during a visit. I was interested in getting one, and liked it so I bought one.

Four and a half years later, 3 months after a Canyon Lands tour, the A70 stopped working properly and I replaced with another Canon, the A720IS, which still works well.

A couple of years ago I started attending Saturday morning digital photography and editing software classes given by a retired teacher who is also president of one of the local camera clubs. She recommended this website for the high quality of the reviews.

Late spring last year I attended a meeting of one of the 3 different close by camera clubs. One of the members, who also attended the Saturday classes, drove me to a special all day photography event near Letchworth Park and I really enjoyed it. In the fall I joined the club headed by the teacher of the Saturday morning classes and also attended meetings of the other 2 clubs.

As the club year went on, I learned a lot more and was impressed by the photographs by club members. One night my club was fortunate enough to have a night at a professional studio with several models. I was the only member who did not bring a DSLR, but did the best I could with my A720IS.