Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Jan 23, 2012, 11:01 AM   #1
Default Newcomer seeking advice

Just joined, so don't yet know how this works. I am an old timer amateur. When I was young I built a darkroom into my home to develop and enlarge my pix. I purchased an SLR and carried a big bag of equipment everywhere I went. I spent all my time fiddling with the equipment or in the darkroom. I was too busy to enjoy life!

Got rid of everything in order to be more sociable. Kept away from photography for 30 years or more. But have become reinfected through my computer. NO MORE DARKROOM!! I have 5 digital cameras now but want to get better quality. Have thought about a DSLR, but that would take me back to interchangeable lenses and the big bag of equipment.

Basically, I see the need for different lenses in order to go from telephoto to macro. But wouldn't I accomplish the same thing by just getting the best zoom camera? I have a Fuji finepix that does the macro and telephoto without the need to exchange lenses. It has a 30X zoom!

I understand that one advantage of DSLRS is that they use a larger sensor. Is there a camera with the great zoom AND a large sensor?

I'm not sure I understand why a larger sensor yields better quality photos. Maybe an equivalent comparison to a film camera would be comparing a 35 mm film camera to a camera using film yielding larger negatives.

Sorry, if this is too long. But I would appreciate any advice or comments.

Thank you.
yenehc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 23, 2012, 11:32 AM   #2

Welcome to Steve's

The sensors found in dSLR models are *much* larger than the sensor in a point and shoot camera with a 30x zoom.

As a result, you'd need to use much larger lenses to cover the same focal range.