Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 11, 2006, 10:30 PM   #1

I have a digital rebel xt... I have been shooting now for about 6 months.. More and more people are wanting me take pics of babyshowers, personal pics stuff like that... nothing professional yet b/c I am not that good yet. lol... anyway... I am wanting to know what camera I should upgrade to at Christmas time.. I have been looking at the 5D a bunch.... If I were to start shooting wedding and things like that.. is the 5D good enough or do I need to bite the bullet and save for like a mark 2. Can someone tell me the how much better the 5D is than my rebel I have now? Sorry about all the newbie questions I just know that I am going to take this photography thing to the next level I just would like some advice to help make good decisions. Also I have been looking at the EF lenses... the 70-200 f/2.8 with image stabilization... I have heard nothing but good comments from some people.. Saying it is great for weddings, portraits things like that.. I currently have the stock 18-55 canon lens that comes with the rebel and the ultrasonic 70-300 f/4.5 lens.. I seem to be running into clarity issues and things like that..

any advice would be helpful..... for those of you who shoot wedding what is your setup..

thanks ....TODD
kwkshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 12, 2006, 7:45 AM   #2

Well, I hope someone with wedding experience will answer your questions there. But I do think you ought to be able to get some good results with your XT. That kit lens is not one of the better ones out there, so you might first try upgrading that.

The Tamron 17-50 f2.8 makes a nice upgrade wide to normal lens for a about $440:

(And, on edit, I shouldn't leave out the Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4.5, for $340):

Or, if the wide angle is less important, the Tokina 28-70 f2.8 for about

Or, for $340, the Tamron 28-75 f2.8: