Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 16, 2006, 4:59 PM   #1

HI there. I came to this site a while back when I bought my first digital camera. I now have a Sony Cyber Shot dsc-v3 7.2 megapixels. It is a good camera, but I am wanting a small one to carry around in my purse. My main reason for the camera is to take pictures of my daughter. She is 3 and is constantly moving when I am trying to take her picture. I read on the internet about the Canon sd 800is or 700is, and I thought it looked like a pretty good one. It said something about Image Stabilizer that helps with the blurriness. Does anyone have an opinion on a good camera? My 3 most important things I am looking for is small size, quick shutter speed, and have as little blurry pictures as possible. I am not a professional photographer, just a mom who wants a great camera. Thanks again for any help you can provide. Jen
kayleezmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 16, 2006, 10:42 PM   #2

You should not mistake "image stabilization" as the ability to freeze fast moving subjects. Image stabilization only works for slow shutter speeds (eg. 1/60 or less) at which pictures get blurry because of shaky hands. It is only useful mainly when you want to take pictures in dark condition without using the flash and a tripod.

You are correct that you need fast shutter speed to freeze the quick movement of your daughter so that the pictures are not blurry. This has nothing to do with image stablilzation. For a fast moving child, any shutter speed 1/250 second or faster should freeze the picture enough (she's not a jet fighter or Nascar afterall!). Most if not all cameras have at least 1/250 second shutter speed.