Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 21, 2006, 9:30 PM   #1

I currently own a Sony DSC F828 which has given me a few years of wonderful service. I enjoy the 'bendy' lens and the flexibility that offers. It's also a good all round automatic performer. However it's time for me to move up a notch or two in the camera world.

My budget is up to £1,500. I've read very good reviews about the Nikon d200. Similarly the Sony a100, at just under two thirds of the Nikon price is also quite appealing as I already use the Sony systems for both camera and computer.

I am an artist and architect andboth professions demand a high usage of photography. My current Sony F828 will become my 'second' or back-up camera.

I'm also interested to explore the limits of photography (as quite frankly my current knowledge is more of the point and shoot variety...) and therefore purchasing a higher performance camera may enable me to do just that.

As well as taking shots of stationary objects such as buildings and artwork I am keen to capture moving images in the urban environment. Therefore a fast switch-on time andhigh speed shooting are also important criteria. I believe the Sony is not as quick as the Nikon. (also, architects, as anyone else,tend to like 'build-quality')

So, what do you think I should purchase. Sony, or the Nikon. (personally I like the idea of a good metal high quality camera.....probably the Nikon)

Replies and suggestions will be more than appreciated!

Many thanks, S.

Slicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 22, 2006, 12:35 PM   #2