Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 21, 2006, 9:39 PM   #1

My first digital camera was an HP m417 and since it was my first, I thought it was great! Sure, sometimes because of the small lcd screen I couldn't see if a pic was blurry, and yeah, it was a bit bulky. But compared to disposable cameras, I thought it rocked!

Ok, so now I am in the market for a new camera and want to spend under 250 bucks and I have found two cameras I like, but am in a quandry about the batteries issue...I do not like the non-AA battery, but I love the other features.

Considering what I am used to using, how big of a difference is it between the Panasonic DMC-TZ1 and DMC-LZ3?

I know that 10x optical is better than 6x optical, but considering I am an amateur photographer and just looking for a camera with the most auto presets and picture settings, and more than 3x optical, would I be missing out if I just get the 6x camera?

The TZ1 I like, except for the battery issue.

Which would you choose?
ilovetotravel29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 21, 2006, 11:24 PM   #2

How about a Kodak Z740? 5mp, 10x zoom, good performance and image quality, uses AA's...(and rechargeble ones also...)

My friend has one and loves it! Doesn't have image stabilization, though. But anyway, it is very very easy to ease. I have used it and its very simple! And fun to use.

Here's a link to a good price on the Z740!

Hope this helps! Goodluck!
En121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2006, 11:46 PM   #3

I doubt you'll get much specific good advice without going into more detail about what type of things you're likely to be doing with the camera.

The TZ1 and LZ3 look like pretty similar cameras, except the TZ1 costs significantly more, and has higher specs. How much zoom you want is certainly something only you can answer, but that's most of what you're paying for with the TZ1.