Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 12, 2006, 1:57 PM   #1

Hi, every one!

Lately, my interests for photography have increased. Therefore I am considering to buy a dslr (dah… surprised!? Guess not…) There are several things that I am insecure about so I thought maybe you guys could help me decide. OBS! Excuse my poor English :-)

A little bit about me…

I have relatively small hands, I use glasses and I am interested in computer, technology and internet! My knowledge about photography is intermediate (when it comes to photography theory/phrases like ISO, shutter speed, sensor size etc…) But when it comes to photography in real life I am just a beginner, but progressing ;-) To show you my photography level, I post some pictures that that I have taken in past 3 months.

http://picasaweb.google.com/tonyswebalbum/ 20 pics taken with HP photosmart 735 and my mobile phone, SonyEricsson W800i.

One of my concerns about dslr is the size! I know dslr are much bigger then a compact cam, but is it easy/pleasant enough to drag it on my shoulder or in a bag? I know this is an individual issue but I would like to hear a comment from "hobby photograph people" who had the same concern buying a dslr for the first time. (Buy "hobby photograph people" I mean people who don't have photography as a profession, because than we talking about a work tool not a hobby) Notice: I am not afraid of dragging a dslr with me when I go out to shoot photos (mini photo trip/walks) but what about everyday life?

Which model?

I am considering between Pentax k100d or K10d, Canon 350d or 400d (rebel xt and rebel xti in us) and maybe a Nikon d50 (outsider)!